The Editorial Board

QW Naqvi

Qamar Waheed Naqvi


QW Naqvi is the Chairman of the Editorial Board of satyahindi.com mainly responsible for leading and guiding the Editorial Board on setting ethics, standards, and editorial policies. He had played a key role in drafting initial Ethics & Standards Guidelines with other fellow Editors during the formative days of the News Broadcasting Standards Authority and had served it as a member twice.

Naqvi was the News Director of TV Today Network from 2004 to 2012. He led the Editorial teams of Aaj Tak, Headlines Today (now India Today news channel), Tez and Dilli Aaj Tak. Later, he also joined India TV as its Editorial Director for a brief stint.

In his long journalistic career of 40 years, QW Naqvi spent 15 years in Print Journalism and shifted to TV News in 1995 as a member of the launching team of then 20-minute news capsule Aaj Tak on DD Metro. He coined the name Aaj Tak and as Deputy to late S. P. Singh, a cult figure in Hindi journalism, he crafted an innovative style of vibrant, lucid, and viewer-friendly Hindi for Aaj Tak.

Before shifting to TV Journalism, he worked in different capacities with Mumbai, Lucknow and Jaipur editions of Navbharat Times, had frequently toured and covered the North-East region of India as Chief Reporter of Hindi Weekly Ravivar, published by the Anand Bazar Patrika Group, Kolkata. As News Editor of India’s first broadsheet Hindi Weekly Chauthi Duniya, he was instrumental in conceptualising an innovative design and layout style for the newspaper.

During his second tenure at TV Today Network, he established the TV Today Media Institute to identify, groom and mentor a fresh and young lot of journalists, infusing them with liberal and progressive paradigms while benchmarking for them the highest standards of journalism.

A tenacious team builder, motivator, ideator, and trusted leader, QW Naqvi is a professional with a 360° worldview of the ever rapidly changing landscape of the media industry, audience, emerging technologies, and content. A mentor who has spawned a generation of the young and dynamic breed of journalists many of whom are household names today.

Other Members of The Editorial Board

« Back to Editorial Board